The Notes On The Guitar

Each fret on a guitar is a note.  There are 12 different notes in music. Imagine them as blocks:


7 of these are primary notes called A, B, C, D, E, F, and G. If we assign them a number in our 12 blocks this is what it would look like:


The remaining 5 notes are secondary notes. They have dual names, meaning they can be called sharp or flat. Sharps are represented by a “#” and flats are represented by a “b”. Think of a sharp as meaning “go up one” and a flat as “go down one”.

The 5 secondary notes are called G#/Ab, A#/Bb, C#/Db, D#/Eb, and F#/Gb.


With all 12 blocks filled you can see a sharp always follows a primary note and a flat always precedes a primary note:


The notes will always follow each other in this order:

Note order: A,A#/Bb,B,C,C#/Db,D,D#/Eb,E,F,F#/Gb,G,G#/Ab

Notice that there are no sharps or flats between E and F and B and C.

You can locate any note on a given string if you know the name of the open string, because the notes always follow each other in the same order.

For example, the notes on the A string are as follows:

A(string played open)-A#/Bb,B,C,C#/Db,D,D#/Eb,E,F,F#/Gb,G,G#/Ab

The 12th fret always starts the pattern all over again. It’s the same note as the string played open.

Video: The 12 Notes In Music

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>